Toddler lunch: California BLT wraps

Because I pack my 3-year old’s lunch everyday, I’m quite familiar with the struggle to promote lunchbox diversity. Toddlers aren’t exactly known for their willingness to try new foods. And they’re even less likely to try foods that they’ve had before and didn’t like.

My son may be stubborn and strong-willed, but he got that from me! I’m going to keep trying to get him to eat different foods regardless of how much he claims that he doesn’t like it. I just keeping trying to present things in different ways, hoping that I’ll stumble upon one that he enjoys.

Besides, I eat these things for lunch too. It breaks up the monotony of leftovers.

Prepping these will take a small amount of prep work. It saves precious time in the morning if your bacon has been fried in advance.

20140212-123957.jpg

These wraps are nice to customize towards different tastes. Instead of packing separate lunches, I make wraps for everyone. I leave the tomatoes off of Alex’s and the avocado off of Tyler’s. Mine gets the works.

IMG_5174

And just for the record, my kid didn’t eat this. He may not have been willing to try his wrap, but I loved my lunch! And I’m not giving up on trying to get him to try different foods.

IMG_5480

California BLT wraps

per wrap:

tortilla
romaine lettuce
a few cherry tomatoes cut in half
~ ¼ avocado, cut into slices
2 slices bacon
2 slices of deli ham (or turkey)
mayo

Spread mayo over the tortilla. Top with ham,crunchylettuce, tomatoes, bacon and avocado. Wrap and slice along the diagonal.IMG_5183

2 thoughts on “Toddler lunch: California BLT wraps

Leave a Reply

