spice blends

Let’s talk spices!  Now that it officially feels like grilling season has arrived, I’ve made up a list of my favorite spice blends to share.  Fire up the barbecue this weekend and put one of these to the test.  Might I suggest the Type A rub or the Texas dry rub?  I’m also sharing my recipes for some other favorites, like Ranch dressing mix, taco seasoning, and seasoned salt.

I like to make my own seasoning blends and rubs.  I like that they’re preservative-free and I can control the flavors that are going into our food.  I also hate spending extra money on bags of taco seasoning when it’s really simple to make your own.

With something as simple as spices, starting with good, quality spices can make a huge difference in your food.  One of my number one cooking tips is to season your food.  That means salt.  Not just any salt.  Coarse kosher salt.  Not just any coarse kosher salt.  Morten’s coarse kosher salt is my everyday brand.  I actually pack this into my suitcase for every vacation.  It’s that essential to my cooking.  I think the size of the grain is perfect for everyday seasoning, as some of the other brands of coarse salt are far too large.  I also think that it’s too easy to over-salt with standard iodized salt.  A nice coarse salt is key.  Good salt and decent knives make for a happy chef.  (Another thing that I happen to pack on vacation.  Can you say “Type A”?)

Other salts can become part of a more extensive spice rack, but Morten’s coarse kosher is what I also have in my salt crock.

DIY spice blends

These seasoning blends are my tried and true favorites.

rubs stored in magnetic tins

I apologize for not referencing my sources for these recipes below.  I’ve collected them from all over the internet and from various cookbooks.  All of the herbs mentioned below are dried.

chili powder
2 Tbsp ancho chili powder
1 Tbsp cumin
1 Tbsp oregano
½ tsp cayenne
2 tsp coriander
1 Tbsp garlic powder
2 tsp chipotle chili powder

taco seasoning
2 Tbsp chili powder
1 Tbsp cumin
2 tsp coarse sea salt
2 tsp black pepper
1 tsp garlic powder
1 tsp paprika
½ tsp onion powder
½ tsp crush red pepper flakes

Add 2-3 Tbsp per pound ground meat.  After draining off the fat, add ⅓ cup water.

Type-A dry rub
2 tsp dry mustard
2 tsp onion powder
2 tsp paprika
2 tsp coarse salt
1 tsp garlic powder
1 tsp coriander
1 tsp cumin
1 tsp black pepper

A favorite choice for grilled anything.  Chicken, beef, pork.  It probably tastes fantastic on grilled veggies too.

Texas dry rub
2 Tbsp paprika
2 Tbsp brown sugar
1 Tbsp chili powder
1 Tbsp coarse salt
1 Tbsp black pepper
2 tsp garlic powder
2 tsp onion powder
1 tsp cumin

beef rub
1 Tbsp + 1 tsp coarse salt
1 Tbsp chile powder
1 Tbsp onion powder
1 ½ tsp garlic powder
1 tsp paprika
1 tsp marjoram
½ tsp cumin
½ tsp black pepper
¼ tsp cinnamon

Caribbean rub
2 Tbsp brown sugar
2 Tbsp garlic powder
2 Tbsp thyme
1 Tbsp + 1 tsp coarse salt
1 ½ tsp black pepper
1 ½ tsp allspice

jerk seasoning
2 Tbsp onion flakes
2 ½ tsp thyme
2 tsp allspice
2 tsp black pepper
½ tsp cinnamon
½ tsp cayenne
½ tsp salt

rib rub
¾ cup dark brown sugar
¾ cup white sugar
½ cup paprika
¼ cup coarse kosher salt
¼ cup garlic powder
2 Tbsp black pepper
2 Tbsp ginger
2 Tbsp onion powder
2 tsp rosemary

seasoned salt
2 Tbsp salt
2 tsp sugar
½ tsp paprika
¼ tsp turmeric
¼ tsp onion powder
¼ tsp garlic powder
¼ tsp cornstarch

A knockoff of Lawry’s and my choice for seasoning guacamole.

ranch seasoning
⅓ cup dry buttermilk
2 Tbsp parsley
1 ½ tsp dill
2 tsp garlic powder
2 tsp onion powder
2 tsp onion flakes
1 tsp black pepper
1 tsp chives
1 tsp coarse salt

To make ranch dressing, combine 1 Tsp ranch seasoning with ⅓ cup Greek yogurt (or mayo) + ⅓ cup milk. Whisk.

herbes de provence
2 Tbsp rosemary
1 Tbsp fennel seed
2 Tbsp savory
2 Tbsp thyme
2 Tbsp basil
2 Tbsp marjoram
2 Tbsp lavender
2 Tbsp parsley
1 Tbsp oregano
1 Tbsp tarragon
1 Tbsp bay powder (crushed bay leaf)

One of my favorite blends of herbs.  I use this all the time.  A favorite in my chicken pot pie, a recipe that I hope to share soon…

IMG_6752

jerk seasoning blend

One thought on “spice blends

  1. Courtney Linton

    I think you’ve been reading my mind! I’ve been searching for the best homemade ranch dip mix. Makes me sick when I read the artificial ingredients of my (now former) stand by Hidden Valley Dip mix. Can’t wait to make all these! Loving reading your blog and looking forward to the next post.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

