baked pumpkin steel cut oatmeal

I have already posted a recipe for baked steel cut oats on this site, but this one is just so good.  And in fall, I want everything I eat flavored with pumpkin.  My husband insists this pumpkin-flavored foods obsession is a girl-thing.  I don’t know if guys crave pumpkin too, but this oatmeal is a welcome breakfast on a cold morning.  It’s also a great weekend recipe to re-heat each morning during a busy week.
pumpkin steel cut oats
baked pumpkin steel cut oats
modified from The Kitchn

1 ½ Tbsp butter
1 cup steel cut oats
1 cup canned pumpkin
¼ cup dark brown sugar
1 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp ginger
¼ tsp nutmeg
½ tsp salt
2 ½ cups milk
1 ½ cups water
1 tsp vanilla

optional:
maple syrup
toasted walnuts

Preheat the oven to 375°.

In a small dutch oven, melt butter over medium heat. Add oats and stir for a few minutes, until they’re slightly toasted. Add in the pumpkin, brown sugar, and spices. Remove from the heat and whisk in the milk and water. Add in vanilla.

Cover with the lid and bake for 40 minutes. This will still look thin, but it will thicken considerably as it cools. Stir it up, dish it into bowls. Top with a bit of milk and maple syrup. Optionally, add in toasted walnuts or pumpkin seeds. Now, isn’t that just a fall breakfast?

To reheat, I just add a bit of milk or water, nuke for a few minutes and top with honey.

2 thoughts on “baked pumpkin steel cut oatmeal

  1. Jennifer McC

    I made a recipe very similar to this a few weeks ago (the one I used called for using a crock pot and cooking it overnight). It was DELISH – what did YOU guys think of this one? I LOVE those cute little pumpkin napkins ! Did you make those? Jen

    Like

    Reply
  2. oopiebelle Post author

    Hey Jen –
    I’ve made this one many, many times and I always love it. Gabby loves it. Alex only eats oatmeal when it has chocolate chips on it, so that’s how I’d serve this to him. 🙂 Tyler likes it, but he doesn’t rave about pumpkin like I do. The napkins were from Crate and Barrel. I’m a sucker for a cute dishtowel or napkin.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

