little man apron

Now that we’re finally settled into the new house, we’ve been putting the kitchen through it’s paces.  I’m anxiously awaiting the installation of a new gas cooktop.  (I have an over-enthusiasm for cooking over fire.  You should see me with a kitchen torch.)  The microwave handle has broken and its ready for replacement as well.  In the meantime though, I’m happy to put my kitchen equipment to the test.  Alex has been happy to help.  He has his own set of cooking tools and his own kid-sized apron as well. I loved the ‘Staches print from Birch and thought this apron would be a great opportunity to use it.
DSC_0007

basic child's apron
I loved his so much that I even made one for Gabby as well!  She’s still too young to do much helping, but these are so easy to make and kids grow fast.  That will be right around the corner.

IMG_9915 And then I went ahead and made one for myself.  I just couldn’t quite stop.

IMG_9922

pint-sized apron
For these aprons, I used a free template online. There are two sizes (3-5 and 6-8) that could be easily adjusted, if desired. It can be found at Sew Daily. You do have to create an account, but it is free. You can always opt out of receiving e-mails if you’d prefer not to get them. The other option is to use this template, which is the original, hand-drawn version, but doesn’t specifically feature sizing options.

It’s perfectly lovely as written.  I’ve made a few aprons for my nieces as directed (well, mostly as directed, just with the addition of a front pocket):
basic child's apron, with pocket
But this time around, I decided to make a few modifications.

  • Instead of ¾” wide elastic, I use ½”. It’s easier to thread through the neck strap and it’s not quite as bulky. For the adult apron, I used 1 ¼” D rings instead of an elastic strap.
  • I embroidered initials onto the front apron body.  I know how to do exactly one embroidery stitch.  And now I want to monogram everything.
  • I made waist straps that tie together, rather than velcro. That will allow these to be worn a bit longer, and more easily adjusted. Besides, velcro in the kitchen can get kind of gross. To make waist straps that tie, cut 2 additional “neck straps” from the pattern. Prepare them and sew them as shown in the diagram of the pattern. For making all of the straps, you’ll really need to get a turning tool. It looks like a giant straw and chopstick, but it allows the process of creating straps and tubes to be a breeze.
Leave a Reply

