favorite sewing resources

While I hate to shop for clothing in person, I absolutely love to look at fabric in the store.

My favorite local shop, Sew to Speak, has a fantastic selection of modern fabrics.  They also are a wonderful resource for techniques and classes.  I recently just finished this Noodlehead Super Tote and learned to make a recessed zipper.  I love taking classes, even for things I could stumble through on my own.  I seem to pick up something new each time.  I’m excited that I can stuff absolutely everything into this bag, including fabric purchases!

IMG_1061When they don’t have something in stock, I turn to online resources:

  • Hawthorne Threads. One of my favorite resources for fabric. They have a fantastic color coordinating tool that will let you match tones in different fabric. They also have amazing customer service.
  • Fabricworm. My online resource for Birch Fabrics. I completely adore practically everything they produce.
  • Pink Chalk Fabrics. A newly identified resource with a great selection.
  • Purl Soho. Gorgeous, gorgeous, gorgeous. It all comes at a price. But oh, so pretty!
  • Sunny Day Supply. A brand new shop run by my first (and fantastic) quilting teacher, Mary Dugan and her sister. Lovely, hard-to-find fabrics and adorable notions. Cause everyone should have a squirrel zipper pull.
  • Spoonflower.  A cool site that allows you to design your own.  Or shop from awesome designs of other talented folks.
  • Minted.  Independent artists designing fabric.  Really beautiful, quite pricey.

My stash of fabrics has grown a bit too much in recent months.  Fortunately, I have my new machine up and running and am trying to tackle about five different baby quilts to bust through a bit of this.

IMG_1056And for inspiration for projects, check out my favorite sewing blogs:

The Purl Bee. Incredibly stylish and do-able tutorials from Purl Soho. I want to make everything.
Molly Flanders. Beautiful patchwork and quilts, by Mary, of Sunny Day Supply. Incredible hand-quilting with perle cotton and an amazing eye for fabric combinations. The essence of modern domesticity.
Sew Mama Sew. Lots of great tutorials.
The Long Thread. Love her books. Both very good resources for beginners.
Comfort Stitching. Aneela Hooey. A fabric designer and master at embroidery. Adorable children’s fabrics. This site just makes me happy.
Cluck Cluck Sew. A favorite quilting blog. Awesome, simple quilting patterns and a few great free tutorials and patterns.
MADE. Dana has some great clothing patterns, but I love her tutorials, baby items, and home decor.
Made by Rae. Another great source for clothing patterns. Again, her tutorials and and baby items are my favorites.
Alina’s Adventures in Homemaking. An awesome resource of sewing tutorials and patterns for tons of things I’d love to make.
Pretty Prudent. One of my first resources for sewing and a great spot to learn how to make some basic, yet stylish items. Still one that I turn to again and again for inspiration.
Hawthorne Threads Blog. Great project ideas. Do not sign up for their weekly newsletter. You will want all the fabric. All of it. They send out the latest fabric to arrive at their shop along with things that they’ve created with that fabric.

Leave a Reply

